Driving Laws for Virginia Teens
It’s an exciting time for any teenager: you’re at the age where you can get either your learner’s permit or your driver’s license. But what are some of the rules and regulations surrounding teen drivers? It’s important to be up to-date on the laws governing our newest and youngest motorists.
Learner’s Permits are secured by young drivers in order to properly learn the “rules of the road,” the laws governing driving in their state and in the country, and generally how to drive well. Those in possession of a learner’s permit must have a licensed driver at least 21 years old beside them, though the accompanying driver can be eighteen years old if they are a legal guardian, brother, sister, half-brother or –sister, and step-brother or –sister.
A Driver’s License is secured by a driver after he or she has held a learner’s permit for at least nine months (a driver over 19 years old merely has to hold the permit for at least 60 days). Drivers must verify, via a guardian, parent or foster parent, that they have completed at least forty-five hours of practice, with a third of those being done after sunset. A “juvenile licensing ceremony” occurs in which a number of young drivers are presented their licenses by a judge.
In Virginia, “intermediate license holders,” or teen drivers are banned from using cell phones while driving. Texting is actually banned for all drivers in Virginia and is a primary offense. If you are caught texting while driving you can face fines of $125 or more.
If you are under 18, it is illegal for you to be on the road driving between midnight and 4 a.m. The exceptions for this law include:
- driving to/from place of employment,
- driving to/from an activity supervised by an adult and is sponsored by a school, civic, religious, or public organization.
- driving with a licensed spouse age 18 or older, a parent, or another adult acting in the place of a parent.
- emergency situations
Virginia Personal Injury Lawyers
The Law Offices of Richard J. Serpe, PC has helped victims of car accidents for over 33 years. If you or a loved one has been injured because of someone else’s negligence or recklessness, you may want to speak to a personal injury lawyer. If you’d like to speak with an experienced personal injury attorney in our office, call 877-544-5323. Our office offers free consultations, and has a no fee promise; You pay no legal fees unless we settle or win your case.